Golden witchbreed & Ancient light, by Mary Gentle

‘Golden Witchbreed’ is a remarkable first novel with great fluency of style. My one problem was the map inside the back of the book. It very quickly became clear to me that Gentle was going to take us to every place named on that map; and she did, with a terrible inevitability.

The sequel, ‘Ancient Light’, came out four years after the original novel. Because of the way my TBR pile works, my copy disappeared into limbo, and resurfaced about ten years after I’d read the first novel. It is a tribute to Gentle’s writing that I rapidly re-acquainted myself with the situation, characters and events without going back over the original novel. (We still traipsed all over that bloody map, though.)

Leave a Reply

